CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

candledave

1st May 2024, 17:57
The 5 letter vertical chap is a red herring, you need a couple of 6 letter vertical chaps
81 of 95  -   Report This Post

eenk

1st May 2024, 18:00
Thanks cd, I have now found it, so all done. But talk about obscure! Not at all happy with this puzzle.
82 of 95  -   Report This Post

smithsax

1st May 2024, 23:05
Oh dear. Just cannot see the cryptic representation of the statement from the vertical duo. I know the statement and that the cryptic representation must be in 5 (or six if they overlap) cells.
Does it work in a similar way to the longer cryptic representation of the other statement?
Others seem to have found it easily so I worry that I may have made an error in the grid fill.
Incidentally, I have a digital subscription for the Times which I really only use for the Listener. It is quite expensive - especially as I have just started subscribing to the Magpie which seems to be excellent value! I phoned them today to cancel it having become really frustrated with this offering but the nice lady persuaded me to keep it on by offering a 75% discount for the next 12 months!
Always worth challenging the system.

83 of 95  -   Report This Post

granama1

2nd May 2024, 06:23
Smithsax, think in American terms rather than European and yes, it is cryptically constructed.

It took me quite a long time to twig.
84 of 95  -   Report This Post

smellyharry

2nd May 2024, 10:23
Finally finished, what a bloody awful puzzle. Seriously hope Colleague has a long hard look at himself after that.

Would have been a neat idea if the endgame hadn't been made pointlessly arduous by using adjusted surnames and including a completely random red herring.

The second (shorter) cryptic representation is completely obvious if you have the right quote - the one from ODQ.